November 10, 2014

CIP-008 Incident Reporting and Response Planning

Standard CIP-008-5 ensures the identification, classification, response, and reporting of Cyber Security Incidents related to Critical Cyber Assets. Standard CIP-008-5 should be read as part of a group of standards numbered Standards CIP-002 through CIP-009.

Within the text of Standard CIP-008-5, “Responsible Entity” shall mean:

  • Reliability Coordinator
  • Balancing Authority
  • Interchange Authority
  • Transmission Service Provider
  • Transmission Owner
  • Transmission Operator
  • Generator Owner
  • Generator Operator
  • Load Serving Entity
  • NERC
  • Regional Entity

The following are exempt from Standard CIP-008-5:

  • Facilities regulated by the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission or the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission.
  • Cyber Assets associated with communication networks and data communication links between discrete Electronic Security Perimeters.
  • Responsible Entities that, in compliance with Standard CIP-002-3, identify that they have no Critical Cyber Assets.

See the NERC website for more details regarding Critical Infrastructure Protection Standards.